bookbar bookclub

BookBar characters_final_orange-02.png

BookBar is all about bringing people together through books. We know that half the fun of reading the book is discussing it with fellow readers afterwards, preferably with a glass of wine or cup of coffee.

 

BookBar's book club is created especially for that purpose. So we launched our virtual book club, which promises all the fun of the real thing, and some additional surprises.

How does it work?

 

Sign up, receive your book in advance of the book club with plenty of time to read it, send in the questions and discussion points you'd like us to talk about, and come along to a live interview with the author, in which we'll discuss the book. You'll receive a link to the event a few days before.

Authors that have joined us for the BookBar BookClub so far have included Brit Bennett, Torrey Peters, Raven Leilani, Min Jin Lee, Ingrid Persaud, Curtis Sittenfeld, Clare Chambers, Fiona Mozley, Sophie Heyward and Bryan Washington.

Your ticket price includes a copy of the book, as well as attendance at the virtual event. Buy a ticket to a single event for £15 or subscribe to the book club for £12 a month.

As we pick the freshest paperbacks, the books get sent out at the same time each month to all subscribers, regardless of when the ticket was purchased, so the 3-5 day shipping window does not apply for BookClub purchases as in most cases the books have not yet been published when the programme is launched.

***NB: If you have previously subscribed to the BookClub and are still making monthly payments, you do not need to sign up again as your subscription is still active***

 

Scroll down for this season's line up.

spring 2022

25th May 2022, 7pm

Assembly with Natasha Brown

Assembly is the unconventional story of one woman on her way to a garden party. Described as ‘a modern Mrs. Dalloway,' it's a novel that questions the function of narratives and the limits of language. 

Natasha Brown is a British novelist. She was a 2019 London Writers Award recipient, a 2022 Burgess Fellow at the University of Manchester’s Centre for New Writing, and a Women’s Prize x Good Housekeeping Futures Award finalist. Her debut novel Assembly was shortlisted for the Folio Prize, the Goldsmiths Prize and the Art Seidenbaum Award.

 

9780241992661 (1).jpg

28th June 2022, 7pm

The Island of Missing Trees with Elif Shafak

An exquisite novel set in 1970s Cyprus and present day London that is a love letter to Cyprus and nature. It's a beautiful and richly textured story about forbidden love that revolves around a fig tree who witnesses the blossoming of two lifelong love stories, the division and destruction that warped its stunning island home for decades, and the repercussions of that conflict on those that lived through it and the generations that followed.

 

9780241988725.jpg

28th July 2022, 7pm

The Paper Palace with Miranda Cowley Heller 

A sultry novel set in Cape Codd over the course of 24 hours, flashing back over fifty years, that's perfect for fans of Donna Tartt and Big Little Lies. It's perfect summer reading with the most immersive setting.

On a perfect August morning, Elle Bishop heads out for a swim in the pond below 'The Paper Palace' - her family's holiday home in Cape Cod. As she dives beneath the water she relives the passionate encounter she had the night before, against the side of the house that knows all her darkest secrets, while her husband and mother chatted to their guests inside...

 

9780241990452.jpg

23rd August 2022, 7pm

Fault Lines by Emily Itami

Fault Lines by Emily Itami is a cuttingly funny, honest novel about motherhood and identity, following Mizuki, who is a housewife living in contemporary Japan. Under-appreciated and restless, she finds herself fantasising about an attractive restauranteur, who offers the opportunity to discover freedom and her own voice. But living two lives comes at a price. It's brilliant on family, sacrifice, identity, loneliness, motherhood, love and desire. The best bit is the brilliantly pulsating backdrop of Tokyo, and the whole novel is packed with the most delicious food that's as devourable as the novel itself.

 

9781474620260.jpg